The Atlantic Marketing Association began in 1982 as the Mid-Atlantic Marketing Association. The first conference was hosted at, what was then, Albany State College. Eleven research papers were presented and the luncheon speaker was Franz Ehrhardt, president of Kayo Oil Company a subsidiary of Conoco Inc. Walter Burgess and Ghanbar served as both editors and co-chairs, and Randy Wahlman was the treasurer. In 1985 the association changed its name to reflect a broader positioning strategy and became the Atlantic Marketing Association.